We are aware that our activities can have an impact on society and the environment. We take our responsibility in the areas of environmental protection, human rights and safety at work very seriously.

Safety

We want to be a leader in safety and not have injuries and fatalities in our operations.
More

Environment

We want to minimise our impact on the environment.

Health

We promote the health and well-being of our employees and the communities around our operations.

Community and human rights

We uphold human rights and support the long-term development of local communities.

As a Nordenham company, we have been closely connected with our region for more than 115 years. Our commitment to local communities is very close to our hearts. That is why we would like to make it possible again in the near future to support local projects and institutions such as the Nordenhamer Tafel, the children’s and youth farm and sports and cultural clubs.


As a proud member of the Glencore Group, we follow the company’s internal “SafeWork” approach. The SafeWork initiative aims to change attitudes towards safety throughout the organisation. With SafeWork, we want to bring about lasting change and thereby prevent serious injuries and fatalities in the workplace. For more information on SafeWork, please visit global Glencore page (ENG).

Protecting the environment is very important for Glencore Nordenham. For instance, we recycle used batteries and can therefore recover lead and other important raw materials. This makes Glencore Nordenham an important part of the circular economy.

We regularly support the Nordenham Nature Conservation Association's tern project at Seenpark II and the Nordenham Nature Conservation Association. We have created compensation areas for our landfills that are monitored by the German Nature Conservation Union (NABU).

We are also part of the Lower Saxony Alliance for Sustainability. 

To fulfil our responsibilities towards our employees and the local community, we carry out projects to improve environmental protection on an ongoing basis. By 2023, an additional EUR 13.5 million will be invested in environmental projects. For example, numerous measures to minimise emissions will be implemented.

You can find an overview of the current projects here.
 

Milestones for more environmental protection and sustainability

Bath melting furnace
(since 1996)
almost 95 % reduction in dust and gaseous emissions
Bath melting furnace
(since 1996)
almost 95 % reduction in dust and gaseous emissions
Bath melting furnace
(since 1996)
almost 95 % reduction in dust and gaseous emissions
Bath melting furnace
(since 1996)
almost 95 % reduction in dust and gaseous emissions
Cryogenic oxygen generation plant
(since 2018)
successful partnership with Linde
Recycling oil injection plant
(since 2019)
consumption of fossil natural gas reduced
Bath melting furnace
(since 1996)
almost 95 % reduction in dust and gaseous emissions

Nordenhamer Zinkhütte GmbH in figures

  • -75%

    Sulphur dioxide emissions from captured sources since 2003

  • -85%

    Zinc emissions from captured sources since 2003

  • -24%

    Cooling water consumption (2,886,769 cubic metres) since 2003

  • -44%

    Cadmium emissions since 2003

Wir sind uns bewusst, dass unsere Tätigkeiten Auswirkungen auf die Gesellschaft und die Umwelt haben können. Wir nehmen unsere Verantwortung in den Bereichen Umweltschutz, Menschenrechte und Sicherheit am Arbeitsplatz wahr.

Sicherheit

Wir wollen eine Führungsrolle im Bereich Sicherheit übernehmen und keine Verletzung und Todesfälle in unseren Betrieben.
Erfahre mehr

Umwelt

Wir möchten unsere Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt minimieren.

Gesundheit

Wir fördern die Gesundheit und das Wohlergehen unserer Mitarbeitenden und der lokalen Bevölkerung rund um unseren Betrieb.

Gemeinwesen

Wir respektieren Menschenrechte und unterstützen die langfristige Entwicklung lokaler Gemeinden.

Als Nordenhamer Unternehmen sind wir seit mehr als 115 Jahren eng verbunden mit unserer Region. Lokales Engagement liegt uns sehr am Herzen. Deshalb möchten wir die Unterstützung lokaler Projekte und Einrichtungen wie beispielsweise der Nordenhamer Tafel, der Kinder- und Jugendfarm oder Sport- und Kulturvereinen in naher Zukunft wieder möglich machen.

Als stolzer Teil der Glencore-Gruppe verfolgen wir den unternehmensinternen Ansatz „SafeWork“. Die SafeWork-Initiative hat zum Ziel, die Einstellung zum Thema Sicherheit im gesamten Unternehmen zu verändern. Mit SafeWork möchten wir eine nachhaltige Veränderung bewirken und dadurch schwere Verletzungen und Todesfälle am Arbeitsplatz verhindern.

Mehr Informationen zu SafeWork finden Sie hier.

Das Thema Umweltschutz hat bei Glencore Nordenham eine große Bedeutung. Wir recyceln u. a. Altbatterien und gewinnen dadurch Blei und weitere wichtige Rohstoffe zurück. Damit ist Glencore Nordenham ein wichtiger Teil der Kreislaufwirtschaft.

Regelmäßig unterstützen wir das Seeschwalbenprojekt des Naturschutzvereins Nordenham im Seenpark II und den Naturschutzbund Nordenham.​ Für unsere Deponien haben wir Kompensationsflächen geschaffen, die vom Naturschutzbund Deutschland e.V. (NABU) überwacht werden.

Wir sind außerdem Teil der niedersächsischen Allianz für Nachhaltigkeit. ​

Um unserer Verantwortung gegenüber Mitarbeitenden sowie der lokalen Bevölkerung gerecht zu werden, finden laufend Projekte zur Verbesserung des Umweltschutzes statt. Bis 2023 werden zusätzlich rund 13,5 Mio. € in Umweltprojekte investiert. Unter anderem sollen zahlreiche Maßnahmen zur Minimierung von Emissionen umgesetzt werden.

Eine Übersicht der aktuellen Projekte finden Sie hier.
 

Meilensteine für mehr Umweltschutz und Nachhaltigkeit

Badschmelzofen
(seit 1996)
fast 95 % Reduzierung der staub- und gasförmigen Emissionen
Umbau Kontaktanlage II
2007/2008
Reduzierung von Emissionen
Installation Cooling Tower
2012
Reduzierung von Weserwasser
Installation SO2-Gebläse
2016
Reduzierung von Stromverbrauch
Sauerstofferzeugungsanlage
kryogen arbeitende Sauerstofferzeugungsanlage (seit 2018)
erfolgreiche Kooperation mit der Firma Linde
Recyclingöl-Einblasanlage
(seit 2019)
Reduzierung des fossilen Erdgasverbrauchs
Installation Orcan-Anlage
2020
Nutzung von Abwärme zur Stromerzeugung

Die Nordenhamer Zinkhütte GmbH in Zahlen

  • -75%

    Schwefeldioxid-Emissionen aus gefassten Quellen seit 2003

  • -85%

    Zink-Emissionen aus gefassten Quellen seit 2003

  • -24%

    Kühlwasserverbrauch (2.886.769 Kubikmeter) seit 2003

  • -44%

    Cadmium-Immissionen seit 2003